Bigger Than YOU

Ever tried to do something bigger than you? If you’ve ever been in that sort of place, you know the sick feeling all too well. I tend to dream big. I tend to believe if God said it, then why pause or stop. Let’s Go!

I was sitting weary after a full morning of ministry and knowing I had a group of teens coming over for cell group, I wanted to dust. I looked at my husband and jokingly asked, “Could you please snap your fingers for me and the dusting be done?” He snapped, “No prob baby.” In the most odd outcome, my five year old Maxx unknowing to my request came around the corner with a duster. We smiled and looked at each of other in amazement.

But as I sat watching him dust my collectible Willow statues, I had a sick feeling…I said to my husband, “That’s a mighty big task for such a little guy.” Before the words could leave my mouth, in slow motion, I saw him pick up a rock. It was a heavy rock from El Salvador. He slid it to the edge of the shelf. I warned, “Please just leave the rock, buddy.” to which he didn’t pause or heed my warning. You know what happened. The rock fell to the floor crushing one of my figures.

As the head went one way, and the leg and book the dad was holding went another, I heard the Lord gently speak to me, “How often do I try to help you see the better way when you’re doing a task too big for you? How often do things get broken, or shattered as you explore your gifts and calling to help me with My work? I was humbled and reminded that especially when I dream bigger than me, I MUST heed to God’s instruction because He knows what needs to be done and His strength is sufficient to accomplish dreams bigger than me.

Keep dreaming big. Just remember God wants to direct you and strengthen you to do what HE called you to do. And be patient with yourself as you move into action doing what God has called you to do, after all big dreams usually don’t come to fruition without a moments of personal weakness on our part and strength on God’s part.

1 Peter 4:11
If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

About wegrowministries

Rhonda Haslett BA, MA in Children’s and Family Ministries. A veteran in ministry to children and teens. Consultant, Author and Conference Speaker Founder of: •WeGrowMinistries.com, a consultation organization to equip and release ministers •''Pasta Roni & Friends,'' an evangelistic ministry to children and families. She encourages, equips and empowers ministers of both teens and children through consultation, hands on experience as well as her written curriculum and resources. She is a contributor and board member to CoryCenter.org,Children’s Ministry website. She and her husband are currently youth pastors in Indianapolis, IN where they along with their 4 children reside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

