Single-tasking

As I read a book recently I came across a strange phrase, “single-tasking.” I actually paused and had to read it again. I am so used to hearing the phrase multi-tasking with flashing strobe lights of delight that when I read this word, the simplicity actually struck me.

Every day I multi-task. I’m a mother of four, youth pastor’s wife and run my own ministry organization. I get multi-tasking. I actually thrive in that environment.

Over the last few years the Lord has asked and asked me to slow down. I say I do (and I do…if you know me then you know for me slowing down has it’s own definition). Again I felt the Lord prompt me to slow down.

Then I heard the words from my Lord, “You don’t trust me, do you?” Gasp! “Of course I trust You!”The Lord prompted, “Then why are you more worried about your image and forward progress than slowing down so I can show you a few things.” Suddenly there was silence in my soul.

After many days of conversing with the Lord, I thought I would try something new… different, unique and foreign to my personality and way of sharing my visions and dreams for ministry. I went to a conference and when I was asked how things were going and what was I up to (the common casual conversation starters) I paused. Was I going to share the many dreams and activity or would I actually say what I felt God telling me to do? Slight fear came over me followed by the desire to have God’s blessings more than accomplishment through my own doing.

Then it came out of my mouth. “Well, I’m trying to slow down. I’m doing less conferences, less speaking engagements and less summer outreach events than I ever have. I feel it’s what the Lord wants me to do.” As a consultant with a deep desire to become a helper to those in ministry, this is NOT the way to network and build a following where permission and confidence is gained to be able to speak in the lives of others (Well, not the way I believe it happens!). After the conversation ended I had peace but was nervous about how this would affect my reputation and voice. I still am to be fair. But I trust the Lord.

What caused me to bear my soul? To say what was actually going on? Trust. There is one way I understand to build a ministry and then there’s the way of the Lord that JUST DOESN’T MAKE SENSE sometimes. When I feel prompted to choose a way that doesn’t make sense, I believe there is a message and a lesson to be learned for myself and for those who watch me in ministry. I have to believe that!

So, for now, I am doing my best to be obedient in the slower pace (FOR NOW) so I can have a stronger voice for the Lord in HIS time. I’m trying to learn the skill of single-tasking; a foreign language to me. I think I’ll start practicing single-tasking on my days off when fewer people are around.

What do you do when the Lord asks you to slow or change in a way that seems foreign? Are you willing to trust Him so you can have the blessing of obedience?

Rhonda

About wegrowministries

Rhonda Haslett BA, MA in Children’s and Family Ministries. A veteran in ministry to children and teens. Consultant, Author and Conference Speaker Founder of: •WeGrowMinistries.com, a consultation organization to equip and release ministers •''Pasta Roni & Friends,'' an evangelistic ministry to children and families. She encourages, equips and empowers ministers of both teens and children through consultation, hands on experience as well as her written curriculum and resources. She is a contributor and board member to CoryCenter.org,Children’s Ministry website. She and her husband are currently youth pastors in Indianapolis, IN where they along with their 4 children reside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Single-tasking

  1. Reblogged this on My Blog and commented:

    Hilarious! So after I posted this I headed to the store- I created a plate of lunch and off I went. As I unpacked my make up onto my lap to put on while I was driving and took a bite of my lunch I realized how quickly I had forgotten my focus of single-tasking! I guess I have a lot of learning to do!

  2. Hilarious! So after I posted this I headed to the store- I created a plate of lunch and off I went. As I unpacked my make up onto my lap to put on while I was driving and took a bite of my lunch I realized how quickly I had forgotten my focus of single-tasking! I guess I have a lot of learning to do!

Leave a Reply

